Nevada imposes several safety requirements on cars, drivers, and passengers. Car safety regulations were and continue to be instrumental in curbing vehicle-related mortalities and injuries. These regulations are especially important in and around Las Vegas, which is a critical thoroughfare for trucking shipments, tourism, and multi-state travelers.
Nevada, like most other states, requires drivers to utilize headlights while operating their vehicles at night. Specifically, Nevada mandates drivers turn on their headlights 30 minutes after sunset and thirty minutes before sunrise. Headlights are also mandatory if the driver is unable to clearly see 1,000 feet ahead.
Nevada also regulates the use of high beams, which prohibits drivers from activating their high beams within 500 feet of oncoming traffic or 300 feet behind trailing traffic.
All drivers and passengers must wear seat belts (including passengers in taxicabs and other public transportation methods). Moreover, Nevada prohibits passengers under 18 from riding in the back of a pick-up or flatbed truck except for a limited number of circumstances, like ranching or as part of a parade.
Nevada also regulates the sale of motor vehicles. Specifically, all cars built after 1968 must come equipped with lap belts while those manufactured after 1970 must include lap belts and shoulder straps. These manufacturing guidelines are roughly in line with other state and federal regulations.
Child Car Seats
Nevada requires all children under the age of six and who weigh less than 60 pounds to ride in an approved car seat. Failure to strap a child into a car seat could subject the driver to fines, community service, or even license suspension.
Cell phone use while driving
Nevada strictly prohibits the use of hand-held cellular phones while operating a vehicle. Drivers may not text, access the Internet, play a game, or take a phone call with a hand-held device. However, Nevada does permit drivers to use the following systems:
- Headsets or Bluetooths,
- Voice-operated systems affixed to the vehicle, and
- Drivers may make calls to report emergencies, criminal activities or safety hazards.
There are also exceptions for emergency and law enforcement workers while on duty and utility workers responding to an emergency or outage.
Unattended Pets and Children
It is illegal to leave a child or pet in a vehicle if physical or mental harm could occur to them. Police officers are permitted to use force to remove unattended children and pets from vehicles.